Religion and Science: A False Dichotomy

One thing that defines me, as those who are close to me know, is my faith. I am a Catholic college student, which is not something that is easy to say in a place like Boulder, CO. One issue that I hear people speak about in classes is the dichotomy between religion and science. For me, this separation seems absurd. In class, I constantly hear about all of these wondrous and amazing concepts about the world that we live in that have been proven true. In some classes, my mind is blown on a weekly basis. For me, this helps to strengthen my belief in the existence of a super-natural being. I take offense when people argue that only science or religion can be true. I know both sides of the aisle are guilty of it, but I feel like both science and religion can coexist and are greatly intertwined. From what I see and, this seems like a very novel concept to people.

One person I have recently heard of and learned from is Fr. Robert Spitzer, S.J., Ph. D. His lectures help try to explain and to tie the bond between religion and science. I feel like the sum of what he has worked on can be explained in his lecture titled “Is There Evidence of Fine-tuning, Design and Intelligence in the Universe?”  Here Fr. Spitzer speaks in one of his seminars. His website can be found here http://www.inthebeginningcourse.com/

I love learning and exploring in the science world and I feel that by believing in both science and religion I bring a unique point of view to the classroom. I find that most people who argue that only science or religion can be true fail to truly understand both entities. Both are about observing our natural world and finding answers to some difficult questions that come up. What I find is that answers to the same questions can be answered by both science and religion and that they are often connected.

“Faith and reason are like two wings on which the human spirit rises to the contemplation of truth.” –Pope John Paul II, Fides et Ratio 

Leave a Reply

