Science: You can’t escape it.

As a student of science, I strive for perfection and try to absorb all the knowledge I can. Telling people that I am majoring in Molecular Cellular Developmental Biology (MCDB) tends to draw confused looks, as if they think I enjoy torturing myself with hard classes. The truth is that I welcome challenge and change. I do not consider majoring in science, a subject in which new discoveries occur every day and principles are constantly being changed or broken, as a torturous task but instead as a privilege not everyone can handle.

On the wall of my research lab, the lab that I do stem cell research in, sits a consoling quote:

“If experiments always worked the first time, it wouldn’t be research.”

For every journal, there are hundreds of articles. For every article, there are multiple authors. For every author, there are thousands and thousands of failed experiments. As a researcher of science, I am no stranger to failure, and this familiarity with failure has taught me to not waste it. I understand that failure is a natural part of learning, but I try to learn from my failures and mistakes so I don’t repeat them.

While MCDB is my major, my major-required classes are not limited to biological science. This often frustrates students that only want to learn about biology, but I believe that it is important to learn about the other sciences. Using physics, the different physical properties of atoms that form a chemical structure can be explained; this chemical structure eventually forms the chemical compounds of organic chemistry; these chemical compounds eventually form the building blocks of life and are used to understand molecular biology, so essentially, physics is chemistry; chemistry is organic chemistry; organic chemistry is biology, and biology is life. All of my science classes are related and help me achieve a greater understanding of life.

Different religions have greatly debated the origin and creation of life, but science is where I believe the answer lies.

However, science has many hypotheses that seem correct but are never proven true. I believe that, in science, innocent until proven guilty or true until proven wrong doesn’t exist. Until recently the hypotheses of the origin and creation of life had one major flaw: that a self-replicating RNA molecule has not been created and therefore is just a theoretical molecule. In this <a href=”http://www.newscientist.com/blogs/shortsharpscience/2011/04/rna-enzyme-makes-another-rna-e.html”>article</a&gt;, scientists have created a semi-self-replicating RNA molecule, and while this molecule is not fully-self-replicating, scientists are one step closer to proving the origin of life hypothesis true.

Science is an ever-expanding, constantly changing entity that challenges its disciples to discover new truths. Using this blog I will share the discoveries of science and express my opinions about those discoveries.

Ravi Moghe

Leave a Reply

