My Semester “Under the Scope”

I began this semester as a budding scientist ready to enter the bright world of medical research… I end it completely hating science.

Just kidding. But this past semester did help me narrow my focus of what I truly enjoy about science. Being “forced” to commit or engage in a subject that I love made me understand how big science really is, and I’m not only speaking about the field of science in general, or even simply the field of biology. I learned that I only, genuinely, enjoy medical science, but even within this there are two spectrums: the application of said science or the research of new information within the science. I stay true to the statement from my first blog post when I said that it is important to learn about all the fields within science, but I have learned that focusing on what I really love about science is also very beneficial.

Research has been a huge part of my undergraduate career as a follower of science, but over the past three years, specifically this semester, I have reinforced the idea that my true passion doesn’t lie with research but with the application of science to help people. Reading research articles in order to write better grant proposals and to conduct better experiments is not the way I want to apply my knowledge. I want to help people directly with my knowledge, as a doctor. Getting into medical school has been a goal for me since childhood, but as I near completing that goal, I realize that I need to change my dreams.Not many people want to become doctors–even less have the will power and intelligence to do so–and even less follow through with it. But I don’t want to be just another person who “follows through with it.”

My coach always said “Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.”

At the time, I would’ve been perfectly fine with having god given talent and not having to put in the work. Through my experience as a volunteer at a hospital, employee at a doctors office, and a grant-funded researcher, I have realized that giving extra effort makes all the difference. I have changed my goals from “just getting into med school” to exceeding in school and becoming a great overall doctor. I also realize that this isn’t a change that can be made overnight, so I plan to stop being lazy, going the extra mile, and really putting 100% effort into whatever I do. While my love for research has declined since I first walked into my lab, I am appreciative of the experience. It taught me valuable skills, but more importantly, it taught me to focus on what I want to do with science and what I need to do to be able to achieve my new goals.

Leave a Reply

